Prices and Data

Value Dates

Delivery of a currency and metal is effected on the "spot date" for the first leg of the spot or forward transaction. Excluding bank holidays, it means that a trade entered into on a Monday will settle on a Wednesday and a trade entered into on a Friday will settle on the following Tuesday. Forward transactions will be quoted, unless specified otherwise, from the spot date to the requested date.

While there must be two good London business days between trade date and spot, if a US holiday falls between the trade date and what would otherwise be a good spot date from the London holiday schedule, the US holiday is generally ignored. It is worth noting though that metal will not settle on US holidays. Sometimes it can be the case that certain institutions will prefer to have two clear business days in each of London and New York to ensure that there is sufficient time for both currency and metal to settle. Therefore, it is worth clarifying with the quoting institution to ensure that any possibility of confusion is minimised.

The table below provides guidance on the value dates which take into account those days which are recognised as bank holidays in the UK and US.

Value Dates 2021

Contract Date Value Date Holiday
Wed 30-Dec-20 Mon 04-Jan-21 US & UK New Year's Day, Friday 1 January 2021
Thu 31-Dec-20 Tue 05-Jan-21 US & UK New Year's Day, Friday 1 January 2021
Thu 14-Jan-21 Tue 19-Jan-21 US M.L. King, Jr. Birthday, Monday 18 January 2021
Fri 15-Jan-21 Tue 19-Jan-21 US M.L. King, Jr. Birthday, Monday 18 January 2021
Thu 11-Feb-21 Tue 16-Feb-21 US President's Day, Monday 15 February 2021
Fri 12-Feb-21 Tue 16-Feb-21 US President's Day, Monday 15 February 2021
Wed 31-Mar-21 Tue 06-Apr-21 UK Good Friday & Easter, Friday 2 April and Monday 5 April 2021
Thu 01-Apr-21 Wed 07-Apr-21 UK Good Friday & Easter, Friday 2 April and Monday 5 April 2021
Thu 29-Apr-21 Tue 04-May-21 UK Early May Day Bank Holiday, Monday 3 May 2021
Fri 30-Apr-21 Wed 05-May-21 UK Early May Day Bank Holiday, Monday 3 May 2021
Thu 27-May-21 Tue 01-Jun-21 US Memorial Day & UK Spring Bank Holiday, Monday 31 May 2021
Fri 28-May-21 Wed 02-Jun-21 US Memorial Day & UK Spring Bank Holiday, Monday 31 May 2021
Thu 01-Jul-21 Tue 06-Jul-21 US Independence Day, Sunday 4 July 2021
Fri 02-Jul-21 Tue 06-Jul-21 US Independence Day, Sunday 4 July 2021
Thu 26-Aug-21 Tue 31-Aug-21 UK Summer Bank Holiday, Monday 30 August 2021
Fri 27-Aug-21 Wed 01-Sep-21 UK Summer Bank Holiday, Monday 30 August 2021
Thu 02-Sep-21 Tue 07-Sep-21 US Labor Day, Monday 6 September 2021
Fri 03-Sep-21 Tue 07-Sep-21 US Labor Day, Monday 6 September 2021
Thu 07-Oct-21 Tue 12-Oct-21 US Columbus Day, Monday 11 October 2021
Fri 08-Oct-21 Tue 12-Oct-21 US Columbus Day, Monday 11 October 2021
Tue 09-Nov-21 Fri 12-Nov-21 US Veterans Day, Thursday 11 November 2021
Wed 10-Nov-21 Fri 12-Nov-21 US Veterans Day, Thursday 11 November 2021
Tue 23-Nov-21 Fri 26-Nov-21 US Thanksgiving Day, Thursday 25 November 2021
Wed 24-Nov-21 Fri 26-Nov-21 US Thanksgiving Day, Thursday 25 November 2021
Thu 23-Dec-21 Wed 29-Dec-21 UK Christmas/ Boxing Day, Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 December 2021 US Christmas, Saturday 25 December 2021
Fri 24-Dec-21 Thu 30-Dec-21 UK Christmas/Boxing Day, Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 December 2021 US Christmas, Saturday 25 December 2021
Thu 30-Dec-21 Tue 04-Jan-22 US and UK New Year's Day Saturday 1 January 2022
Fri 31-Dec-21 Wed 05-Jan-22 US and UK New Year's Day Saturday 1 January 2022